Transfers – $20 cash or check
RECEIVE A FIREARM AND TRANSFER IT TO YOU – $20
- Buy the gun and make payment to the seller.
- Provide me with the seller’s email address and I will send them a copy of my FFL and shipping instructions.
- When the firearm arrives at my shop, I’ll give you a call and we can make an appointment for you to come pick it up. I prefer to do transfers on Wednesday evening and Saturday mornings but can accommodate most other times.
SHIP A FIREARM FOR YOU – $35 PLUS ACTUAL SHIPPING COSTS.
If you sell a gun to someone in another state or need to ship a firearm for whatever reason, it can be a hassle. Instead you can drop off your firearm with me and I will ensure that it is properly packed and shipped. No hassle for you. Also, since FFL dealers have other shipping options available to them including the ability to send handguns through the US Mail, it may be cheaper to pay me to do it for you.
*** I AM NOT REGISTERED WITH THE CALIFORNIA DOJ AND CANNOT SHIP A FIREARM INTO THAT STATE ***
FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS ABOUT TRANSFERS
Is this really legal?
Of course. The law says that any person not prohibited from acquiring firearms may purchase a firearm from an out-of-State source and obtain the firearm if an arrangement is made with a licensed dealer in the purchaser’s State of residence for the purchaser to obtain the firearm from the dealer. For more information, look here http://www.atf.gov/firearms/faq/unlicensed-persons.html
Do you accept transfers from non-licensed (Non-FFL) persons in another state?
How does it work?
You purchase the firearm and provide me with the seller’s contact information. Many of the popular on-line gun retailers already have a copy of my license and shipping information on file. If they don’t, I prefer to initiate contact by email since if they are a dealer, I’ll eventually have to send them a copy of my FFL. They will ship the firearm to me and when it arrives, I’ll contact you and we’ll make an appointment for you to come pick it up. When you arrive, you’ll fill out the BATF From 4473 just like if you bought the firearm in a retail gun store and I’ll do the background check as required by law.
Do you have to do a background check?
Yes, unless you have a valid Texas License to Carry or are a Law Enforcement officer with a letter on department letterhead and signed by your Chief of Police or Sheriff stating that a background check has been done on you and the firearm is for on-duty use.
In addition, ALL firearm transfers must be logged in my FFL bound book and all customers must fill out a BATF Form 4473 and show proper identification. Unless you have a Texas LTC or a LE Letter, I must conduct a NICS background check by telephone or online. This process usually takes about 20 minutes but I’ve been on hold for up to 90 minutes during peak times.
Is there a waiting period?
No, not in addition to the background check. Once you pass the NICS background check, you can immediately take possession of your firearm. In most cases, the NICS background check is resolved in several minutes. However, it can take up to five days.
What if I’m denied by the FBI NICS check?
Don’t be. Please don’t waste everyone’s time by buying a gun and having it shipped in from out of state if you’re not certain you’ll pass the background check. If you’re uncertain, contact me or your local ATF office prior to making the purchase. If I have to send the gun back to where it came from, it’s going to cost you a lot in fees and shipping.